New President Elected at Marmara Municipalities Union's General Assembly

Following the 2024 Local Elections, Mayor Mustafa Bozbey of Bursa Metropolitan Municipality was elected as the president of Marmara Municipalities Union during the 2024 1st Ordinary Assembly Meeting held in Istanbul on May 8, 2024.

During the Marmara Municipalities Union (MMU) 2024 First Assembly Meeting in Istanbul, Mayor Bozbey secured the presidency with the support of council members.

At the inauguration, Mayor Tahir Büyükakın of Kocaeli Metropolitan Municipality, the outgoing president from 2019-2024, formally handed over the presidency to Mayor Bozbey.

Mayor Büyükakın highlighted the unity and cooperative spirit within the Marmara Municipalities Union, praising the collective efforts in navigating challenges such as the pandemic, earthquakes, and environmental concerns over the past five years.

In his address, Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality Mayor Ekrem İmamoğlu, the host of the meeting, expressed optimism about the future cooperation within the MMU, stressing the significance of well-established institutions in societal development.

Mayor Bozbey, in his gratitude speech, pledged to advance the Marmara Municipalities Union, emphasizing its role in supporting and strengthening member cities. He underscored the importance of solidarity in addressing environmental issues plaguing the Marmara Region.

The newly elected MMU Board Members include mayors from Tekirdağ, Bilecik, Yıldırım, Kartal, Fatih, Gebze, and Lüleburgaz municipalities, further enriching the leadership diversity within the union.